

## **Supporters of the Charitable Deduction**

This list provides the members of Congress who support maintaining full value of the charitable deduction. This list does not take into account anecdotal support.

The following Senators signed the Thune/Wyden letter supporting the charitable deduction.

Ed Markey (D-MA)	Mark Kirk (R-IL)
Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND)	Mark Udall (D-CO)
James Inhofe (R-OK)	Mazie Hirono (D-HI)
Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)	Pat Roberts (R-KS)
Jerry Moran (R-KS)	Roger Wicker (R-MS)
Jim Risch (R-ID)	Ron Wyden (D-OR)
John Boozman (R-AR)	Roy Blunt (D-MO)
John Hoeven (R-ND)	Susan Collins (R-ME)
John Thune (R-SD)	Thad Cochran (R-MS)
Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY)	Tim Johnson (D-SD)
Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)	Tim Scott (R-SC)
	Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND) James Inhofe (R-OK) Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) Jerry Moran (R-KS) Jim Risch (R-ID) John Boozman (R-AR) John Hoeven (R-ND) John Thune (R-SD) Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY)

The following Senators included the charitable deduction in their "Blank Slate" letter with Chairman Baucus and Ranking Member Hatch. These members may not support the full value of the charitable deduction, but recognize the importance of protecting it in the tax code.

Bob Casey (D-PA) Mark Begich (D-AK)
Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) Chris Coons (D-DE)

The following Representatives co-sponsored H.R. 1479 in 2013. This bill would have exempted the charitable deduction from the limitation on itemized deduction based on tax payers AGI (i.e. The Pease provision). Representatives Sensenbrenner and Matheson were the main sponsors.

Jim Sensenbrenner (R-WI-5)	Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-NJ-11)	C.W. Bill Young (R-FL-13)
Jim Matheson (D-UT-4)	Ted Poe (R-TX-2)	James Lankford (R-OK-5)
Thomas Petri (R-WI-6)	Don Young (R-AK-At Large)	Bob Goodlatte (R-VA-6)
Michael Burgess (R-TX-26)	Matt Salmon (R-AZ-5)	Pete Sessions (R-TX-32)
Gregg Harper (R-MS-3)	Michael Grimm (R-NY-11)	Kevin Cramer (R-ND-At Large)
Joe Barton (R-TX-6)		